The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland consists of England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.  The population of Britain is over 58 million people. 8 million people live in London the capital city.

Other famous cities and towns in Britain are:

  • Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland, with its old castle.

  • Stratford-upon-Avon, the birthplace of Shakespeare.


  • Liverpool, a very important port and the home of The Beatles.


  • Cambridge and Oxford both famous for their universities.


The head of states is the Queen. In London she lives in Buckingham Palace. It is a very popular place for tourists.


Great Britain has a lot of rivers and lakes. The most important river is the Thames. The most famous lake is the Loch Ness. There is a legend that Nessie, the Loch Ness monster, lives in it.

Every region of Great Britain has its own main city and the symbol.

The symbol of Scotland is the thistle.


Scotland is a mountainous area. Ben Nevis, the highest mountain of Great Britain.

The capital of Wales is Cardiff and the symbol of the region is the daffodil.


Belfast is the capital of Northern Ireland and the shamrock is its symbol.


The flag of Great Britain is called the Union.

The currency of the country is the pound.


The climate of the country is humid. The English weather changes very often. It is not very cold in winters and not very hot in summers.

Download this essay (*.docx)

Recommended articles

Useful links:

Smart True - math is easy!
Learn English Numbers 1-10. Video
Room on the Broom Activity Book
Present Continuous exercises. Grammar online.
Present Simple exercises. Grammar online.
Future Simple exercises. Grammar online.
Past Simple online exercises. Grammar online.
Present Perfect online exercises. Grammar online.